The Pärnu show lives

After a few hiccups, road bumps, and set backs, the Pärnu show has taken shape. We’ll be performing on the 25th and 26th of June at the Beach Club (22 Mere Puistee, Pärnu). I’m really happy with how the poster turned out — I worked with a new graphic designer this time who gave me a pretty nice rate for the artwork. I told him that I wanted a parody of the Endless Summer poster (by the way, if you haven’t seen that movie, check it out); after a few revisions, this is what he came up with:

He actually traced the profiles of those surfer comedians by hand. I think the final product turned out really well. What I’ve learned about these posters is that they get more use (and do more good) as web branding than anything else. I really doubt the physical posters we hung accounted for more than 10-15% of the audience at the Tartu Show, but I think everyone in the audience was familiar with the Tartu artwork simply because we used it in all of our web publicity. I think it’s important to associate a visual with an event, even if you’re only promoting it on the internet.

Leave a Reply

